Web Forgery

Yahoo! Personals Canada

Below is a web forgery I received today.  It’s a scam and I include it here so that you can see some of the latest phishing attempts. Just reading you can tell it was not composed by someone who is fluent in English :)

Dear Firth Third band business or commercial customer.

Customer Service Department of the Fifth Third Band is in a position to let you know that it is necessary to pass the procedure of acknowledgement of your client data.  In order to pick up all the necessary instructions and to start the procedure, you should click the link in the end of the letter.  This procedure is obligatory for the performance for all the business and commercial clients of the Fifth Third Bank.

This instruction had been sent to all the business and commercials clients of the Fifth Third bank and is obligatory to be followed up.

To start the procedure of acknowledgement of your personal client data please use this link:

http://www.53.com.businessandcorporate./customerdata

We appreciate your cooperation with us and apologize for the inconvenience brought.

Note:  This web forgery is designed to make you believe that the message came from Fifth Third Bank.  It’s clearly a scam and arrives to your email address as text or a graphic.

Notice how this web forgery tries to con you into thinking that its 53.com by including that in the website address?  Actually, the real address is not even an actual internet address - likely a mistake.

3 Responses to “Web Forgery”

  1. Steve Says:

    I received the same spam / phishing scam, and sent the header to the ISP (rr.com) in hopes they would match the IP address against DHCP logs, then identify and take action against the perpetrator. Fat chance. Oh well, maybe someday we’ll be able to put a stop to this stuff.

  2. howard Says:

    This e-mail got me. $123.00 atm from my cardthe day after they got my info. 3/28/7 atmed 3/29/7.

    service at paypal.com”

    Dear PayPal Customer,

    This email is to inform you, that we had to block your PayPal Account access because we had to upgrade our servers in order to remove online fraud.

    Our terms and conditions you agreed to state that your account must always be under your control or those you designate at all times. We have noticed some unusual activity related to our servers that indicates that other parties may have access and, or control of your informations in your account.

    Please follow this link to confirm your account access information :

    [fake address]

    Please be aware that until we can verify your identity no further access to your account will be allowed and we will have no other liability for your account or any transactions that may have occurred as a result of your failure to upgrade your account as instructed above.

    Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter .

    Sincerely,
    PayPal Account Departement.

    © Copyright 2007, PayPal. All Rights Reserved.
    e-mail id : 1211ppl1

  3. me Says:

    Lol. I got similar email, just wasnt “from” paypal, was “from” ebay :D

Leave a Reply