Domain Registration Scam

Here is a Domain Registration Scam I received this morning designed to scare you into visiting their website and registering your domain name with them.  It’s all a big scam designed to play on your fear, so don’t fall for it!

brooke@publicdomain.net.cn

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please transfer to the right person/department. Thank you.)

Dear CEO,

We , a registrar organization in China, have something to check with you. We received an application on Aug. 11th. One company called “Repet Trading Co. Ltd” is applying for “[yourdomain]” as internet brand and following Asian/.CN domain names to use.

[yourdomain].cn
[yourdomain].com.cn
[yourdomain].net.cn
[yourdomain].org.cn
[yourdomain].hk
[yourdomain].tw
[yourdomain].com.tw
[yourdomain].asia

After checking, we found the internet brand and keyword of these domain names are as same as your company’s, so we need to check this with your company.

If the aforesaid company is your subsidiary company or your business partner, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 7 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by ” Repet Trading Co. Ltd ” unconditionally.

Best Regards,

Brooke Ma, senior consultant

Tel: +86-21-5914-8338
Fax:  +86-21-5911-4516

Website:  xd-publicdomain. org. cn

2008-08-12

7 Comments

  1. Kane M. says:

    Scam still in play. I just received the email today March 30, 2011

  2. George Weller says:

    Thank you for posting this! I just recieved the same email this AM and had my doubts since they didn’t capitalize China but still was unsure.

  3. Joedy says:

    Yeah got same email this is the whois on the person that sent it

    Domain ID:D156516993-LROR
    Domain Name:DNS-NIC.ORG
    Created On:26-Jun-2009 08:22:06 UTC
    Last Updated On:26-Aug-2009 03:54:50 UTC
    Expiration Date:26-Jun-2010 08:22:06 UTC
    Sponsoring Registrar:Todaynic.com, Inc. (R1316-LROR)
    Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
    Registrant ID:TOD-41437705
    Registrant Name:LiuJing
    Registrant Organization:LiuJing
    Registrant Street1:ShangHai
    Registrant Street2:
    Registrant Street3:
    Registrant City:ShangHai
    Registrant State/Province:SH
    Registrant Postal Code:519000
    Registrant Country:CN
    Registrant Phone:+86.215636562
    Registrant Phone Ext.:
    Registrant FAX:+86.215636562
    Registrant FAX Ext.:
    Registrant Email: Chinesedomainname@hotmail.com

  4. Dave says:

    Hi All:

    We recieved the identical e-mail last week (week of March 16/09)

    I sent a copy of the e-mail and the replies to cease and desist to our web host and domain name registrar.

    I was promptly informed this seems to be a new “Nigerian type scam” arising form China.

    Luckily, my lawyer steered us right and our providers are very ethical.

    Be aware, the scammers are everywhere.

    As a word of advice and something I learned the hard way… Never do any business with any unsolicited e-mail. Don’t even open them as they can set cookiesor phish to get your information.

    Good Luck and caveat emptor!

  5. Joachim says:

    We got this e-mail, too.

    From xud china, Mr. Alex Wan. Company trying to register is the “QL Investment Development Ltd”.

    Of course, xud china is not the department of registration service in china, it´s APNIC.

    Greetings Joachim

  6. Ben says:

    Me too:

    (If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please transfer to the right person/department. Thank you.)

    Dear CEO,

    We , a registrar organization in China, have something to check with you. We received an application on Dec.17th. One company called “Chad trading Co. Ltd” is applying for ” xxxxxxxxx ” as internet brand and following Asian/.CN domain names to use.

    xxxxxxxxx.asia
    xxxxxxxxx.cn
    xxxxxxxxx.com.cn
    xxxxxxxxx.com.hk
    xxxxxxxxx.com.tw
    xxxxxxxxx.hk
    xxxxxxxxx.net.cn
    xxxxxxxxx.org.cn
    xxxxxxxxx.tw

    After checking, we found the internet brand and keyword of these domain names are as same as your company’s, so we need to check this with your company.If the aforesaid company is your subsidiary company or your business partner, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 7 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by ” Chad trading Co. Ltd ” unconditionally.

    Please forward the email to your decision maker,and let them contact me in time,so that we can handle this in reasonable.Look forwarding to hearing from you.

    Best Regards,

    James Zhai
    Lead Checker

    Shanghai XD public Domain Solutions LTD
    Tel: +86-21-5271-5980 Fax: +86-21-5271-5978

    Postal Code: 200063

    Address: 11/F, Building A, Oasis Plaza, 137 Bailan Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

  7. Tanya says:

    I received this identical email today. Thank you for posting your experience. Google and Yahoo they have on their website

    —————————-

    Dear CEO,

    We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application. One company which called ‘banikis corp’ are applying to register CN domain names on August 25, 2008.

    After our initial examination, we found that the internet brand applied for registration are as same as your company’s name and trademark.These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these, Please contact us as soon as possible.

    In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is 7 days. If your company files no dissent within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by banikis corp.

    Best Regards,

    Jack Chen
    Senior consultant
    Phone: +86-21-52715980 (Direct)
    Fax: +86-21-52715978
    Address:9-102, No.460, Lintan Road, Jiading District, (don’t trust)Shanghai, China

    Tel: +86-21-5914-8338
    Fax: +86-21-5911-4516
    Postal Code: 231803
    Address: No.460,Lintan Road,Jiading District,Shanghai,China

    Monday-Friday:: 8:30 A.M. – 5:30 P.M
    Saturday: 9:30 A.M. – 1:00 P.M

    The best way to reach technical support is by emailing to the technical support department, you will usually receive a response within 2 hours during business hours.

Speak Your Mind